Ideas, Ideas, Ideas!

March 5, 2009 at 11:27 pm 16 comments

Hello all!

At this last meeting, we had a plethora of tasties (thank you Meryl and Jack!) and great ideas, as well as convincing Windows to play the Mazi DVD and reading up to Ch. 7 of “Gerda Malaperis.” By the way, everyone, you can view the Mazi videos here, along with some printable worksheets of the vocab used and scripts.

We received a package full of Esperanto books from Lee Miller of Missouri! We actually received them several weeks ago but I had to wait till my parents visited to get them.🙂 I’m home right now, but when I get back I’ll set up a page with all the titles–sort of a lending library for us. I’ll also perhaps start cataloging  the Esperanto books in our libraries, with brief descriptions of what they are. That could be a large project, but I think it would be nice to be able to see exactly what we have here. I’ve got four years here–I should be able to do it before then. Heh.

So, as to meeting changes, there are none. Heh. We talked about possibly allocating the first few minutes (20-30) for just chatting in Esperanto for the more advanced speakers to practice and the newer learners to participate when they feel ready. However, I know that the current time already pushes several members who have events directly after the meeting. Do we want to move that to some time after the regular meeting (though I feel like that might be weird)?

Or, we could have a weekend date where the first thirty minutes would be conversation and the like, and the rest would be a formal lesson. The more advanced speakers can just show up for the chat, or stay for the lesson as well. It’ll be more structured, however, so new students can build on their knowledge in addition to the hodge-podge learning the meetings generally seem to provide. Starting next weekend, sound good?

Jack had the brilliant idea of a one-week intensive Esperanto course. We could cover all the basics of Esperanto in about 5 days. It would give everyone a good base in the language. Plus, it’ll be fun! Let’s pick a week soon! We can have different times each day.

So, we’re going to get on ordering those Teach Yourself Esperanto books printed up. I’m not sure how much they’ll be, but they’ll be less than $13 when we get them a few copies at a time.🙂

The last day for proposing things for SORF to fund is coming up. Please email me ideas! Books (specifics would be nice), magazines, etc.

Also, Patrick Marx (Marks? I’m not sure if he gave that as an Esperantization or what…), a science teacher at West Point Elementary, has a group of about six children who are learning Esperanto. They would like to correspond with us, so I hope soon that we can send them postcards or something. Just keep it in mind.

Oh! Bake sale! We’re gonna do it soon. Got any good ideas? Toss em my way, leave em in the comments!

Entry filed under: Club Activity. Tags: .

Today’s Meeting – New Faces News in Esperantujo

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  March 5, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Saluton! Mi estas Karen.

    Reply
    • 2. dirawz  |  March 6, 2009 at 12:00 am

      Saluton! Kiel vi trovis nian blogon? Ĉu vi loĝas apud nia klubo? Se jes, bonvolu veni!

      Reply
      • 3. Karen  |  March 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

        Mi estas en klubo. Mi estas komencanto. Mi estas Linguistics studento.

        Reply
        • 4. dirawz  |  March 7, 2009 at 7:00 pm

          Ah, tiu Karen! Mi komprenas. Bonege.🙂

          Reply
  • 5. Vaughn Seward  |  March 6, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Estas interesa legas pri via klubo renkontajxoj. Ni ankaux renkontas cxiusemajnan. Ni uzas la libro de Kellerman:

    http://esperanto-edmonton.wikidot.com/kellerman-answerkey

    Ekzistas alia versio je PDF (trovu per Gugel).

    Vaughn

    Reply
    • 6. dirawz  |  March 6, 2009 at 8:56 am

      Mi tre ŝatas vian ligilon! Mi konis tiun libron, sed ne konis bonan, haveblan version. La Gutenberg-a estas okulfrapa, malbone. Dankon!

      Reply
  • 7. Brian Barker  |  March 6, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I sometimes believe that I am only one who is aware that Esperanto is a living language. I also believe that it helps language learning as well!.

    Five schools in Britain have introduced the language, in order to test its propaedeutic values.

    The pilot project is being monitored by the University of Manchester, and the initial results are very encouraging. These can be seen at http://www.springboard2languages.org/Summary%20of%20evaluation,%20S2L%20Phase%201.pdf

    Reply
    • 8. dirawz  |  March 7, 2009 at 12:30 pm

      Ooh, I’ve been aware of Springboard2Languages for a bit but I hadn’t yet seen that document. Really interesting. I hope this project can continue and grow.

      Reply
  • 9. Asija  |  March 6, 2009 at 8:59 am

    I’m not in the club or anything, but I have to suggest that you try and offer three different baked goods at your sale. Check you local paper for coupons so you can save on the mixes.

    I have a lot of siblings and several of the boys aren’t fond of chocolate while I’m the only girl who really loves vanilla Ice Cream. My 11 year old brother doesn’t even lice Ice Cream! When ever we are having a big event, we try and make dishes we know everyone will like. Also be careful if you decide to put nuts in anything as some people are highly allergic.

    I’m not sure you want to make it in the local media because you “poisoned” someone with crush walnuts.

    P.S. Thats the Esperanti-zation of my name. Its awesome how an Esperantist will read my name and say it 100% correct while I’ve yet to meet the English speaker outside of my family who can say it, even when I say it 10 times–break it down for them, (its just 3 sylables–gosh!) or they’ve known me 15+ years.

    Reply
    • 10. dirawz  |  March 6, 2009 at 9:52 am

      Ooh, thank you for the advice! I’ve never done this before, so I wasn’t really sure what to do. I’ll *definitely* watch out for nuts. I think in that case the “Any news is good news” axiom kind of breaks down.🙂

      If you’re by any chance in the Illinois/Urbana-Champaign area, I’d love to get other people coming to the meetings as well!

      Reply
      • 11. Asija  |  March 6, 2009 at 5:48 pm

        Ha! I wish! Try the South-East corner of the country if your looking for me. I’m in Sunny, hurricane-ridden Florida!!

        I wish the Esperanto movement was greater in my area but I really look at it as a challenging opportunity for me to do something good for the movement.

        Right now I’m in Tech School, but hopefully I will start college in June, and once I get situated–sometime in the Fall, probably, I’m going to try and get an Esperanto club going at my school and take it with me when I go to University.

        Reply
        • 12. dirawz  |  March 7, 2009 at 11:12 am

          Excellent! Good luck with starting your Esperanto club. If you need anything, I’m sure our clubs can work together.🙂

          By the way, I’m not sure where in Florida you are, but at University of Florida there’s a rather active Esperanto club you might want to drop by. They’re a fun group.

          Edit: By the way, I just saw your post at Esperanto-USA. Great to have more Esperanto youth around! Any chance you’d be able to make it to the St. Louis Landa Kongreso of Esperanto-USA this summer?

          Reply
          • 13. Asija  |  March 12, 2009 at 9:00 pm

            Nah, not likely. I’ll be in school. My vocational school ends May 29th and college starts about 7 days later if memory serves. Maybe they’ll get a live stream up and I’ll be able to participate online.

            Reply
  • 14. Asija  |  March 12, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    P.S. Thanks for the heads up about UF. I hadn’t known they were there. I’ll be going to school in my own Tally-town though but I’ll definitely try and get in touch with them.

    Reply
  • 15. timsk  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I’ve just stumbled on your site while googling for Springboard2Languages. It’s good to see clubs and courses being organised — keep up the good work!

    Just wanted to throw in a link to all the Mazi videos on YouTube:
    http://tinyurl.com/mazivideos
    which might be more familiar and easier for some people to access than the QuickTime plugin.

    Reply
    • 16. dirawz  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      Bonege! I’ll put that in the sidebar. That’s helpful–thank you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



